Focus RS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, newbie here been about 2 weeks in so far with mk2 owner ship. Discovered when cleaning tonight a small bubble or rust on the rear wheel arch drivers side, can also see paint beginning to fall away (very small amounts) to the inside lip of the arch. Service book is fully stamped from ford, as is the Perforation warranty section as well, every stamp. I'm sure there give me the stone chips bull ****, but this is clearly a bubble of rust on a unbroken painted surface. Any one else had this and have you claimed against ford with some success?

Full ford history

Paint depth gauge reading as normal original paint to a surfaces.

Good news only peeps😂😂

·
Registered
5,434 Posts
Can't offer any news apart from it's common on both the MK2 ST & RS.

Typically it's where the bumper starts to rub on the arch but try telling Ford that.

Some have been lucky but from what I've previously read, Ford will indeed wriggle their way out of it unfortunately.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Can't offer any news apartt from it's common on both the MK2 ST & RS.
Typically it's where the bumper starts to rub on the arch but try telling Ford that.
Some have been lucky but from what I've previously read, Ford will indeed wriggle their way out of it unfortunately.
+1

This was mine at 30k 4 years old

20140617_122137_zpszndeertk.jpg

·
Registered
383 Posts
Much more worryingly than the usual wheel arch is the roof near the tailgate! My first car (a 2005 Focus Mk2 Zetec Climate) I sold to a family member and looking at it today I noticed it is absolutely covered in rust all around where the tailgate hinges meet the roof and just outside the boot seal, crazy!

Not saying that'll necessarily happen to our RS's but it's the same shape car at +5 years, so just keep an eye out chaps!

·
Registered
606 Posts