Focus RS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
816 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Iv been looking at doing my bike test for while now but decided to hang on until I hit 24 then could do Direct access and ride a bike without restrictions, so i turned 24 in august and 8 weeks later (today) i passed my MOD 2! i did my CBT about 5 weeks ago then my theory 3 weeks ago and this week i started riding a motorbike Monday passed my MOD 1 Wednesday with no minors and passed my MOD 2 today with only 2 minors! cant believe how quick i learnt how to ride a bike having only ever ridden the odd bike here and there before i started out.

So now im on the hunt for a bike but its like a minefield out there when you start looking!

Any bikers got any advice on what to buy as a first bike? not really got a budget as such just dont want to spend stupid money on one as a first bike incase I drop it.

·
Registered
816 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
had a couple of people say about their tests and they were ride round the block with a bloke stood on foot waiting for them turn around go round the block the other way and that was it! ive had to do the following:

1. CBT

2. Theory

3. MOD 1 (motorcycle manoeuvres)

4. MOD 2 (on the road with examiner following and giving directions)

wasn't particularly difficult just lots of time to make errors.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I past my bike test in 1960 the examiner stood at the side of the road with a clipboard passed on a triumph Tiger. Cub then I had a Triumph 21 350cc after that I had Triumph T100ss 500cc then I had the best bike aTriumph Bonneville650cc1964 great days wish I had kept them all I had them all from new

·
Registered
3,258 Posts
just dont want to spend stupid money on one as a first bike incase I drop it.
congrats! Good advise from yourself right there! pick something without a fairing - 600cc and enjoy for a year. During that time, go for a couple of test rides on other bikes?